Indicator 41: Health care guidelines and standards

Indicator 41: Existence of guidelines and standards of health care provision and rehabilitation services for older persons
Indicator is fully reported? Yes.
Type of indicator Instrumental indicator Instrumental indicator
Other relevant indicators Guidelines and standards for the provision of healthcare and rehabilitation services to the general population.
Our findings

Relevant guidance is provided in the documents listed below; they are available at This might not be a complete list.

  • New Zealand Guidelines Group (2003), Assessment processes for older people.
  • Ministry of Health (2004), Guidelines for specialist health services for older people.
  • Ministry of Health (2006), Health of Older People Information Strategic Plan: Directions to 2010 and beyond.
  • Ministry of Health (2010), Food and Nutrition Guidelines for Healthy Older People: A background paper.
  • Ministry of Health (2011), Mental Health and Addiction Services for Older People and Dementia Services: Guideline for district health boards on an integrated approach to mental health and addiction services for older people and dementia services for people of any age.
  • Ministry of Health (2012), Auditing Requirements Home and community support sector Standard NZS 8158:2012.
  • Ministry of Health (2013), Guidelines on Physical Activity for Older People (aged 65 years and over).
  • Stroke Foundation of New Zealand and New Zealand Guidelines Group (2010), Clinical Guidelines for Stroke Management 2010. Wellington: Stroke Foundation of New Zealand.

Although not specific to older people, legislative measures also provide protection for service users and set standards for the provision of health and disability services, such as the:

  • Health and Disability Services (Safety) Act 2001;
  • New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000;
  • Injury Prevention, Rehabilitation, and Compensation (Code of ACC Claimants’ Rights) Notice 2002; and
  • Health and Disability Commissioner Act 1994 and (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers’ Rights) Regulations 1996.

Relevant health sector standards can be bought from The standards are used to help certify services under the Health and Disability Services (Safety) Act 2001.

How entities use the data

To provide services of an acceptable quality.

Summary audit reports of providers are published at

Entity responsible for this indicator Ministry of Health (lead) and Accident Compensation Corporation.