Tertiary education sector at a glance

Tertiary education institutions: 2021 audit results and what we saw in 2022.


Section 268 of the Education and Training Act 2020 states that a university is "characterised by a wide diversity of teaching and research … develops intellectual independence, and promotes community learning". The eight universities are:

  • University of Auckland;
  • Massey University;
  • University of Canterbury;
  • Lincoln University;
  • University of Otago;
  • Victoria University of Wellington;
  • University of Waikato; and
  • Auckland University of Technology.


Section 268 of the Education and Training Act 2020 states that a wānanga is "characterised by teaching and research that … assists the application of knowledge regarding ahuatanga Māori (Māori tradition) according to tikanga Māori (Māori custom)". The three wānanga are:

  • Te Wānanga o Raukawa;
  • Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Te Kuratini o Ngā Waka; and
  • Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi.

Te Pūkenga

On 1 April 2020, the Government created a new tertiary education institution: Te Pūkenga – New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology. The 16 institutes of technology and polytechnics became Crown entity subsidiary companies of Te Pūkenga and Industry Training Organisations became Transitional Industry Training Organisations. In 2021, Te Pūkenga also established a subsidiary focused on work-based learning: Te Pūkenga – Work Based Learning Limited.

On 1 November 2022, all 16 Crown entity subsidiary companies had been disestablished and become business divisions of Te Pūkenga. Te Pūkenga – Work Based Learning Limited also transitioned into Te Pūkenga on 31 December 2022.