Types of tertiary education institution

Tertiary education institutions: Results of the 2017 audits.

The characteristics of tertiary education institutions are set out in the Education Act 1989.

Universities (8)
A university is characterised by a wide diversity of teaching and research, especially at a higher level, that maintains, advances, disseminates, and assists the application of, knowledge, develops intellectual independence, and promotes community learning.
University of Auckland Massey University
University of Canterbury Lincoln University
University of Otago Victoria University of Wellington
University of Waikato Auckland University of Technology
Polytechnics (including Institutes of Technology) (16)
A polytechnic (including Institutes of Technology) is characterised by a wide diversity of continuing education, including vocational training, that contributes to the maintenance, advancement, and dissemination of knowledge and expertise and promotes community learning, and by research, particularly applied and technological research, that aids development.
Unitec Institute of Technology Otago Polytechnic
Ara Institute of Canterbury Southern Institute of Technology
Eastern Institute of Technology Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki
Wellington Institute of Technology Waikato Institute of Technology
Universal College of Learning Whitireia Community Polytechnic
Manukau Institute of Technology The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand
Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology Tai Poutini Polytechnic
Northland Polytechnic Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology
Wānanga (3)
A wānanga is characterised by teaching and research that maintains, advances, and disseminates knowledge and develops intellectual independence, and assists the application of knowledge regarding ahuatanga Māori (Māori tradition) according to tikanga Māori (Māori custom).
Te Wānanga O Raukawa
Te Wānanga O Aotearoa Te Kuratini O Ngā Waka
Te Whare Wānanga O Awanuiārangi