Appendix 2: List of external interviewees

Auditor-General’s mid-term review.
Names Position held at date of interview
Duncan Webb Chairperson, Finance and Expenditure Committee
Caralee McLiesh Chief Executive and Secretary to the Treasury
Struan Little Deputy Chief Executive and Deputy Secretary, Budget and Public Investment, The Treasury
Peter Hughes Public Service Commissioner and Head of Service, Te Kawa Mataaho
Helene Quilter Deputy Public Service Commissioner, Te Kawa Mataaho
Tony Lynch Acting Chief Executive, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Paul James Chief Executive, Department of Internal Affairs
Steven Sutton Deputy Secretary, Critical Projects and Governance, Te Puni Kōkiri
Bruce Robertson Chairperson and member of several local authority audit and risk committees
Warren Allen Chairperson of the Office's audit and risk committee
Karen Thomas Chief Executive, Taituarā – Local Government Professionals Aotearoa
Susan Freeman-Greene Chief Executive, Local Government New Zealand
Jim Palmer Chairperson, Review into the Future for Local Government
Richard Harman Journalist
Nikitin Sallee Journalist
Ian Ball Professor of Practice – Public Financial Management, Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington
Norman Gemmell Chair in Public Finance, Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington
April Mackenzie Chief Executive, External Reporting Board
Peter Vial Group Executive New Zealand and the Pacific, Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand
Gordon Hansen Partner, PKF Goldsmith Fox (the Auditor-General's external auditor)
Julie Haggie Chief Executive Officer, Transparency International New Zealand
Anne Tolley Chairperson, Transparency International New Zealand and Commission Chair, Tauranga City Council
James Jong Chief Internal Auditor, Ministry of Education and Head of Profession, Internal Audit and Risk Assurance
Matthew Tukaki Chairperson, National Māori Authority
Haami Piripiri Chairperson, Te Rūnanga o Te Rarawa
Arihia Bennett Chief Executive Officer, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

The Office contracts an external provider to survey select committee chairpersons every two years. They included questions relevant to the mid-term review in the 2022 survey. The survey incorporated interviews with eight select committee chairpersons, and this review has taken those results into consideration.