Appendix 1: Summary of the public organisations we audit, as at June 2020

Annual plan 2020/21.
Organisation categories Number of organisations
Local authorities 78
Airport companies (including related entities) 24
Energy companies (including related entities) 37
Port companies (including related entities) 20
Other council-controlled organisations1 153
Licensing and community trusts (including related entities) 30
Cemetery trustees 1
Other local government organisations2 69
Total local government 412
Financial statements of the Government 1
Government departments (including related entities) 57
State-owned enterprises and mixed-ownership companies (including related entities) 41
Crown research institutes (including related entities) 13
District health boards (including related entities) 41
Schools (including related entities) 2476
Tertiary education institutions (including related entities) 70
Other Crown entities3 88
Administering bodies4 36
Fish and game councils (including related entities)5 15
Other central government organisations6 123
Rural education activities programmes 14
Total central government 2975
Government of Niue (including related entities) 10
Government of Tokelau (including related entities) 2
Public Audit Act section 19 audits 2
Total 3401

1: These are council-controlled organisations as defined in the Local Government Act 2002 (other than those that are airport companies, energy companies, or port companies).

2: These are related to local authorities but are not council-controlled organisations – for example, organisations exempted from being council-controlled organisations under the Local Government Act 2002.

3: These are statutory Crown organisations (Crown agents, autonomous Crown organisations, and independent Crown organisations) listed in Schedule 1 of the Crown Entities Act 2004, and Crown entity companies listed in Schedule 2 of that Act.

4: These are administering bodies and reserves boards listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act 1989.

5: These are the New Zealand Fish and Game Council, 12 regional fish and game councils, the New Zealand Game Bird Habitat Trust Board, and the Game Animal Council, all listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act 1989.

6: These are other central government organisations that do not have their own specific category. The majority are statutory organisations established under specific legislation, as well as other organisations listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act 1989 that are not categorised as reserve boards or fish and game councils.