Figure 2

Organisations that administer New Zealand's public sector accountability arrangements


  • Members of Parliament
  • House of Representatives
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives
  • Select committees
  • Regulations Review Committee

Public entities

(to request reconsideration of their decisions)

  • Supervisors and managers
  • Chief executives
  • Mayors
  • Internal complaint units
  • Boards and board members
  • Councillors and Councils

Inquiry agencies

Officers of Parliament:

  • Controller and Auditor-General
  • Office of the Ombudsman
  • Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment

On demand inquiry entities – such as:

  • Commissions of inquiry
  • Commission or board of inquiry under the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2010
  • Crown Review Team under the Local Government Act 2002


  • New Zealand Police
  • Serious Fraud Office

Independent Crown entities:

  • Human Rights Commission
  • Independent Police Conduct Authority
  • Office of the Health and Disability Commissioner
  • Office of the Privacy Commissioner

Statutory bodies – such as:

  • Benefits Review Committee
  • Catch History Review Committee
  • Film and Literature Board of Review
  • Gambling Commission
  • Grievance panels for Child, Youth and Family residences
  • Medical Board under the Social Security Act 1964
  • Medicines Review Committee

Heads of departments with additional accountability functions – such as:

  • Chief Executive of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
  • Director-General for Primary Industries
  • Director-General of Health

Crown company:

  • Fairway Resolutions Limited

Statutory officials – such as:

  • Commissioner of Patents
  • Director of Human Rights Proceedings
  • Inspector of Corrections
  • Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
  • Investigator under the Fisheries Act 1996
  • Reviewer under the Food Act 2014

Ministers with additional accountability functions – such as:

  • Minister for Land Information
  • Minister of Health
  • Minister of Conservation

Courts and tribunals

General courts:

  • District Court
  • High Court
  • Supreme Court

Specialist courts – such as:

  • Environment Court
  • Family Court
  • Māori Land Court
  • Māori Appellate Court

Tribunals and appeal authorities – such as:

  • Accident Compensation Appeal Authority
  • Alcohol Regulatory and Licensing Authority
  • Customs Appeal Authority
  • Government Superannuation Appeals Board
  • Human Rights Review Tribunal
  • Immigration and Protection Tribunal
  • Land Valuation Tribunal
  • Legal Aid Tribunal
  • Maritime Appeal Authority
  • Psychoactive Substances Appeals Committee
  • Social Security Appeal Authority
  • Student Allowance Appeal Authority
  • Taxation Review Authority
  • Tenancy Matters Appeal Body
  • Valuation Appeal Committee
  • Visiting Justices
  • Waitangi Tribunal

Private sector or personal activities – including:

  • Tell your story to journalists
  • Share on social media
  • Organise public meetings
  • Attend council meetings
  • Request official information
  • Review publicly available reports
  • Go to news programmes
  • Blog about it
  • Lobby MPs and councillors
  • Comment on proposals
  • Call talkback radio
  • Watch and discuss debates in the House of Representatives